TCI News Now!

About Us Contact Us

Advertise with us

Reach our daily visitors from around the Caribbean and throughout the world. Click here for rates and placements.


Click here to submit news and opinion for publication


Click here to receive our daily headlines by email


Click here to browse our extensive archives going back to 2007

Also for the convenience of our readers and the online community generally, we have archived a number of public documents of general interest. Click here for the current index of available documents.

Climate Change Watch

The Turks and Caicos Islands are especially vulnerable to rising sea levels brought about by global warming. Read the latest news and information here...


RSS Feeds

KISS 102.5 FM
Follow TCI News Now on Twitter
Connect with TCI News Now on Linkedin

News from the Turks and Caicos Islands:

Back To Today's News

PDM calls for 'at large' recount
Published on November 10, 2012 Email To Friend    Print Version

Leader of the Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM), Oswald Skippings, has asked for a recount of the votes for “at large” candidates. According to the Governor’s Office, this will take place on Monday at Dillon Hall, Grand Turk.

After a delay in the first count, the reason for which was said to be the number of voters in Electoral District 2, Grand Turk South, and that each individual ballot paper had to be read aloud and shown to all of those present at the count, the provisional standings that are being challenged are as follows:

1. Sharlene Cartwright Robinson – PDM – 3,427 votes (provisional)

2. Rufus Ewing – PNP – 3,252 votes (provisional)

3. Derek Taylor – PDM – 3,191 votes (provisional)

4. Washington Misick – PNP – 3,107 votes (provisional)

5. Josephine Connolly – PDM – 3,023 votes (provisional)

6. Carlos Simons – PNP – 2,899 votes (provisional)

7. Samuel Harvey – PDM – 2,896 votes (provisional)

8. Oswald Skippings – PDM – 2,894 votes (provisional)

9. Wayne Garland – PNP – 2,806 votes (provisional)

10. Royal Robinson – PNP – 2,700 votes (provisional)

11. Oswald Simons – IND – 233 votes (provisional)

If confirmed after recount this would take the number of seats secured by each party in this election to:

• PNP – 8 seats

• PDM – 7 seats
Reads: 9337

Click here to receive daily news headlines from TCI News Now!



No comments on this topic yet. Be the first one to submit a comment.


Send us your comments!  

Send us your comments on this article. All fields are required.

For your contribution to reach us, you must (a) provide a valid e-mail address and (b) click on the validation link that will be sent to the e-mail address you provide.  If the address is not valid or you don't click on the validation link, it will be a waste of your time typing your submission because we will never see it!

Your Name:

Your Email:

(Validation required)

Enter Code *


Other Local News:

Regional News: